Skip to main content
January 17, 2020

The Institute of Corporate Directors Announce 2020 Fellowship Award Recipients

Fellowship Awards celebrate excellence, integrity and leadership in Canadian boardrooms  
The Institute of Corporate Directors (“ICD”) today announced that the following four corporate leaders are this year’s ICD Fellowship Award recipients:  
Donald James Lowry, ICD.D
Chair, Capital Power Corporation; Director, Melcor REIT, RS Technologies, Stantec Inc. and Alectra Utilities
David McAusland, Ad. E.  
Chair, ATS Automation Tooling Systems Inc., IPL Plastics Inc., Montrusco Bolton Investments Inc., Ovivo Inc.; Director, Cogeco Inc. and Cogeco Cable Inc.
Hon. Frank McKenna, P.C., O.C., ONB., Q.C.
Chair, Brookfield Asset Management; Deputy Chair, TD Bank Group; and Canadian Natural Resources Ltd.
Sarah Raiss, ICD.D  
Director, Loblaw Companies Ltd., Ritchie Bros. and Commercial Metals Company
The ICD Fellowship Award is the highest distinction corporate directors in Canada can achieve. Established by the ICD in 1997, this award honours individuals who have made outstanding contributions to Canadian enterprises and not-for-profit organizations through their governance leadership in Canadian boardrooms. 
According to Rahul Bhardwaj, the ICD’s President and CEO, Canada’s corporate directors play an increasingly important leadership role in both their organizations and in the country. “We live in an era of diminished trust in the institutions that support our economy and society,” said Bhardwaj. “Reversing this course starts with best-in-class governance.”

Robert Astley, Chair of the ICD Fellowship Selection Committee, added that “at a time when Canadians are looking to board directors to restore trust in our institutions, the ICD is honoured to recognize the achievements of these four accomplished directors.”

Nominated by their peers, the inductees are reviewed by a Selection Committee that includes prominent individuals from Canada’s director community. In addition to demonstrated leadership within boards of directors, other contributions to good governance are considered, such as published material, speaking engagements and educational activities.

To date, 92 directors across Canada have been recipients of this award. 

The awards will be presented at the Fellowship Awards Gala on May 28 in Halifax.
“Along with our previous award recipients, the 2020 ICD Fellows will serve as role models to directors serving now and in the future,” said Astley.

About the ICD

The Institute of Corporate Directors is a not-for-profit, member-based association representing Canadian directors and boards across the for-profit, not-for-profit, and Crown sectors. The ICD has more than 15,000 members and 11 Chapters across Canada and fosters the sharing of knowledge and wisdom through education, professional development programs and services, and thought leadership. ICD members across all sectors of the economy oversee well in excess of $1 trillion in market capitalization and institutions that impact the lives of virtually every Canadian.

Media Contacts

Annie Smith
Director, Communications and Public Affairs

T: 416-593-3359
M: 416-768-7711

Prasanthi Vasanthakumar
Manager, Communications

T: 416-593-3344

Follow us on Twitter and LinkedIn