Meet our local chapter


  Marilyn Brennan, B.A., MBA, Ph.D., ICD.D

  Senior Vice President, Governance and Strategy
  Credit Union Central of Manitoba Limited
  Chair since: 2020


Marilyn Brennan is the Senior Vice President, Governance and Strategy for Credit Union Central of Manitoba. Located in downtown Winnipeg, Credit Union Central of Manitoba is owned by the province’s credit unions and provides wholesale financial services and trade services for them. With over 600,000 memberships and over $30 billion in assets, Manitoba credit unions have a strong and growing share of the province’s consumer markets as well as the small and medium-sized business & agricultural markets.  Marilyn leads the Governance and Strategy division of CUCM including; advocacy and government relations, strategy and knowledge services, corporate communications, market research, legal services, compliance and risk, and loan adjudication. She also serves as Corporate Secretary to the Board of Directors of CUCM. Prior to joining the organization in 2014, she gained over 20 years of retail banking experience across multiple business lines, holding senior and executive leadership positions with CIBC, and later, with MNPLLP.
Marilyn holds a B.A. in Economics from the University of Winnipeg, and both an MBA and Ph.D. (Finance) from the University of Manitoba, where she served as an adjunct professor in the Faculty of Management. In addition, she holds a number of securities industry designations including Partners Directors and Officers (PDO) and is a graduate of the Institute of Corporate Directors at the Rotman School of Management. Previous board positions include the Manitoba Cooperatives Association and Credential Financial Inc. Marilyn is the Chair of the Manitoba Chapter of the Institute of Corporate Directors and currently serves on the St. Boniface Hospital Enterprise Research Committee.

Administrative Contact

Donna Berrington

Chapter Executive

Chapter Advisory

Marilyn Brennan, ICD.D (Chair)
Tom Bryk, ICD.D (Past Chair)
Brian Hayward, ICD.D, C.Dir

Anna Maria Magnifico, MPA
Bill Baines, ICD.D
Scott Baldwin, ICD.D

Brian Brown, C.Dir
Maria Capozzi, ICD.D
Roberta Christianson
Brent Gilbert, ICD.D
Deborah Harri, ICD.D
Debra Jonasson-Young
Don MacDonald
Irene Merie, ICD.D 

Ashleigh Everett
Hon. Gary Filmon, ICD.D
Hugh Goldie

Derek Johannson, ICD.D
Sandi Mielitz
Richard Olfert, ICD.D
David Sachvie

Gordon Webster

For more details on local events in this Chapter, visit: Chapter Events